Oh Wonder

Yassss kewlege much educationnnnnnnn yaaaaaa. College is so exciting, but kind of painful as well. The best example of this is the process for finding a roommate. Next year I am doing the honors college, which gets the nice dorms at the cost of a limited pool of possible roommates.

Even if I had the whole school to chose from it is such a strange process, it feels like online dating to me. For example here is the average conversation “Hey what’s up I’m Cooper” “What’s up I am (insert typical roommate name)” “So uh tell me things about you so I can decide if I want to spend the next nine months living with you” “Ok”

I paraphrased a little, but this is how most of the conversations go. They are painstakingly uncomfortable because you don’t want to come on too strong or seem disinterested. There is no way to win. It is like winning the lottery, only if you lose you have to live in the same five foot by five foot space with the loss.

Eh. It will all work out in the end hopefully. At least I don’t totally have to go completely random and gamble.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Oh Wonder

  1. I, too, am “doing” honors college, but instead of having a small pool of roommates to chose from, I’ll have a small pool to swim in; though, my roommate will be assigned randomly so we’ll see how that goes…

Leave a Reply

